No products in the cart.
Looking to find your medical cannabis in a state that hasn’t yet legalized it? It may be tempting to drive across neighboring state lines with more cannabis-friendly laws. However, the number of states that will authorize qualified patients from out-of-state medical marijuana programs is still relatively small.
That doesn’t mean you can’t access a green state’s medical marijuana programs, though. Many places will either permit patients access to dispensaries and/or permit medical cannabis possession within a reasonable amount. Cannabis laws are constantly changing across the country, and it’s refreshing to see that the list of cannabis-friendly states is steadily growing! Let’s take a look at which U.S. states have a reciprocity program for visitors who are cannabis patients.
Which States Accept Out-of-State MMJ Cards?
As different levels of cannabis legalization grow across the country, it’s important to know what you’re looking for in terms of out-of-state cannabis consumption. There are basically two levels of legalized cannabis: medical and recreational. Some states with recreational use may be willing to sell recreational cannabis to out-of-state patients with medical marijuana cards, while others may allow you to visit medical dispensaries. (Not all states have differences between medical and recreational cannabis for sale, though most have different tax rates for medicinal users versus recreational users.)
Of the 38 states that have legalized medical cannabis, these are the ones that currently accept out-of-state MMJ cards in some form or another:
States That Allow Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Just because you have a medical marijuana card doesn’t mean you can automatically purchase cannabis at a dispensary in a state where it is legal. The following is a list of states that DO have reciprocity laws in place, meaning they will sell you medical marijuana if you have an out-of-state card.
Arizona provides limited reciprocity for those who are considered “visiting qualifying patients.” To be a qualifying patient, you need to hold an out-of-state medical cannabis card and live outside of Arizona or have only lived in Arizona for fewer than 30 days. Qualifying patients must also be licensed in their home state with a condition that meets Arizona’s medical card criteria. These conditions are:
With an approved medical marijuana card in Arizona, you can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis from a dispensary in Arizona or a designated caregiver every two weeks.
Recreational cannabis is legal to purchase in Arizona as of 2021, with a possession limit of up to 2.5 ounces.
Those with a valid out-of-state medical recommendation and card can legally purchase medical marijuana in Arkansas, provided they fill out a visiting patient form and can provide proof of their out-of-state medical marijuana registration. Visiting patients also need to pay a $50 application fee. If approved, a visiting patient may purchase medical marijuana in Arkansas for a 30-day period per application.
Qualified registered patients are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces from a dispensary every 14 days.
In May 2021, Governor Kemp signed legislation into law, Senate Bill 195, which permitted 30 state-licensed dispensaries to sell high-CBD/low-THC oil products to eligible patients. Out-of-state patients with medical cannabis cards in their home states are allowed to purchase low-THC oil from dispensaries in Georgia.
Hawaii now lets visitors from other U.S. states and territories use their home-state medical cannabis cards to get a 60-day Out-of-State (OSP) card. This OSP card allows access to Hawaii dispensaries for medical cannabis purchases. Patients under 18 need a registered caregiver to accompany them when visiting.
Louisiana passed a law in August of 2022 that allows out of state medical marijuana patients to purchase their products in Louisiana while they are visiting. If you are a current patient with an out-of-state medical marijuana card visiting the state, just search for a Louisiana dispensary close to you to call them for specific details about how to use your current state’s medical marijuana card to purchase medical cannabis in Louisiana.
In Maine, adults that are at least 21 years old can possess and use marijuana. While retail sites were thought to be open to the public by 2018, the deadline seems to have been set back. Nonetheless, adults can still possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower and 5 grams of hashish or concentrates. Medical marijuana patients from certain states can use their patient status to purchase at any of Maine’s medical dispensaries with proper identification. Maine will currently honor qualified patients from the following states:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- Washington, DC.
More information about Maine’s marijuana program can be found here.
Michigan’s dispensaries can choose whether or not they will recognize an out-of-state medical marijuana card. However, Michigan legalized recreational cannabis in 2018. Adults that are at least 21 years old are legally permitted to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower or 15 grams of concentrates. Dispensaries for medical marijuana are accessible throughout the state.
Montana is considered to have reciprocity with other states, allowing medical cardholders from out-of-state to possess and consume marijuana while visiting. However, until 2021, no states bordering Montana had legalized medical marijuana, making it illegal to bring your own cannabis into the state. South Dakota recently legalized cannabis, so this may change in the future.
As of Jan. 1, 2021, recreational marijuana is legal in Montana. Those aged 21 and older are allowed to possess, use, and grow up to 1 ounce of marijuana. Retail sales should begin in 2022.
Recreational marijuana became legal in Nevada in 2017, allowing adults 21 and older to purchase and consume cannabis for personal use. Previously, Nevada had legalized medical marijuana in 2000, and Nevada had reciprocity with all states.
For recreational use, adults 21 years and older can legally possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of cannabis edibles, flower, or topicals and 3.5 grams of marijuana concentrates. Medical cannabis patients and caregivers can possess up to 2.5 ounces of edibles, flower, concentrates, or topicals per two-week period.
In New Hampshire, medical marijuana patients from out of state are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces of usable cannabis, but are not permitted to purchase from local dispensaries. The patient must also have the same qualifying medical conditions that are listed in New Hampshire’s medical marijuana program.
New Mexico’s Medical Cannabis Program currently allows medical cannabis patients from out of state to possess and purchase medical cannabis while in New Mexico. A patient with proof of authorization from a medical cannabis program outside of New Mexico (including any state, the District of Columbia, a territory or commonwealth of the U.S., or a New Mexico Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo) qualifies as a reciprocal patient.
Medicinal cannabis patients from other states may register for a nonrenewable, six-month MCP card for use during their stay in New Jersey. Out-of-state patients will need to consult with a registered New Jersey healthcare practitioner who will enroll them in the state’s registry. They will need to use the reference number and registry ID number they receive from the provider and a current copy of their registration in their home state’s program to set up an account in the patient portal.
Oklahoma recognizes out-of-state cannabis cards. In the Sooner State, out-of-state medical marijuana patients are able to purchase from dispensaries after applying for a temporary license. The temporary license costs $100, takes about 2 weeks to process, and is valid for 30 days with the ability to be renewed. If approved, patients can possess:
Apply For Your Medical Marijuana Card Today
Veriheal has satisfied hundreds of thousands of patients nationwide
- Get approved or your money back
- Appointments available on-demand
- Customer support available 24/7
- Up to eight ounces of marijuana at home
- Up to three ounces of marijuana on their person
- Up to one ounce of concentrated marijuana
- Up to 72 ounces of edible marijuana
As long as patients bring their physical medical marijuana card with a government-issued ID card from the same state, visiting patients can have access to dispensaries in Rhode Island. Out-of-state patients are also permitted to possess the same amount of medical marijuana as in-state patients. The possession limits are 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis
Like other state’s on this list, Utah requires patients to meet one of its own qualifying conditions in order to extend reciprocity. Those qualifying conditions include:
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Debilitating Seizures
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
- Multiple Sclerosis Or Persistent And Debilitating Muscle Spasms
- Ulcerative Colitis
- A Terminal Illness When the Patient’s Life Expectancy Is Less Than Six Months
- A Condition Resulting In the Individual Receiving Hospice Care
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Persistent Nausea That Is Not Significantly Responsive To Traditional Treatment, Except For Nausea Related To:
- Cannabis-Induced Cyclical Vomiting Syndrome
- Cannabinoid Hyperemesis Syndrome
- A Rare Condition Or Disease That Affects Less Than 200,000 Individuals In The U.S., As Defined In Federal Law, and That Is Not Adequately Managed Despite Treatment Attempts Using Conventional Medications (Other Than Opioids Or Opiates) Or Physical Interventions
- Pain Lasting Longer Than Two Weeks That Is Not Adequately Managed, In The Qualified Medical Provider’s Opinion, Despite Treatment Attempts Using Conventional Medications Other Than Opioids Or Opiates Or Physical Interventions
- A Condition That The Compassionate Use Board Approves (Once Established) On A Case-By-Case Base
Washington, D.C. only allows reciprocity from certain states that have an equally functioning medical marijuana program. These states include:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
While cannabis is decriminalized and is legal for recreational use, only authorized MMJ patients are able to purchase from dispensaries. Current marijuana laws prohibit the retail sale of cannabis in D.C.
If your state is not on the aforementioned list, you can still bring your medicine as long as you keep a minimum on your person. You can legally possess up to 2 ounces of cannabis flower for personal use, while concentrates and hashish remain illegal. If you visit D.C., be absolutely sure you avoid consuming cannabis on federal land and stick to using it only on private property.
More information about D.C.’s marijuana program can be found here.
Per the state regulations, only terminally ill cancer patients in states that have comparable medical cannabis programs may use and make lawful purchases in West Virginia. Please contact the state authorities to confirm which states have a reciprocating agreement with West Virginia.
States Without MMJ Reciprocity
The following states do not allow reciprocity for medical cannabis patients in other states.
- New York
While medical marijuana and/or low THC: high CBD products may be legal in these states, they do not serve out-of-state patients.
However, many of these states have legalized adult-use cannabis. Adults over the age of 21 can purchase cannabis in these states, but do not have access to the same high-potency strains or cheaper price points that medical card users have.
Iowa’s program allows out-of-state visitors to possess cannabis. However, only residents that are registered with the state’s medical program can make purchases at dispensaries.
As the Kentucky medical cannabis program – which began in 2023 – continues to develop, it will likely allow reciprocity for patients registered in bordering states.
Though Ohio just voted to legalize the consumption, purchase, and growth of recreational cannabis, adult-use dispensaries may not open until the summer of 2024. To purchase cannabis in Ohio, you must have an Ohio medical cannabis card.
South Carolina only allows for low THC high CBD products for eligible patients that suffer from various forms of epilepsy. At this time medical marijuana is still illegal
Tennessee laws only allow low THC high CBD oil for patients that suffer from one or more qualifying conditions. This really only allows for protection from the law and doesn’t offer avenues for patients to purchase these products.
States That Won the Vote in 2023 for Medical or Recreational Marijuana Use
Ohio passed Issue 2 in November 2023, which allows residents of Ohio to purchase, consume, and grow adult-use cannabis. Starting December 7 2023, Ohioans 21 and older can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis and 15 grams of extracts. However, purchase of adult-use cannabis likely won’t begin until summer of 2024.
Kentucky legalized medical cannabis in 2023 when Governor Andy Beshear signed Senate Bill 47 into law. Starting in 2025, patients in Kentucky will be able to apply for a medical marijuana card after obtaining a written certification from their medical practitioner showing a qualified medical condition. Those conditions are as follows:
- Any type or form of cancer regardless of stage;
- Chronic, severe, intractable, or debilitating pain;
- Epilepsy or any other intractable seizure disorder;
- Multiple sclerosis, muscle spasms, or spasticity;
- Chronic nausea or cyclical vomiting syndrome that has proven resistant to other conventional medical treatments;
- Post-traumatic stress disorder; and
- Any other medical condition or disease for which the Kentucky Center for Cannabis
On May 30, Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz signed an expansive cannabis legalization bill into law, allowing the recreational use of cannabis for adults 21 and older starting Aug.1 2023. Minnesota residents can possess 2 lbs of cannabis at home and 2 oz in public spaces.
Where is Medical Cannabis Legal?
The following states currently have some type of medical marijuana program:
Product availability differs from state-to-state. While some states allow cannabis consumption in all forms for medical patients, other states prohibit smoking and dabbing cannabis. Additionally, some states, like Georgia and Texas, only allow low-THC cannabis oil for qualified patients.
Learn more>> Stay up-to-date with cannabis laws in your state, to ensure that you’re consuming safely and legally.
States Where Medical and Recreational Marijuana Is Illegal or Very Limited
In the following states, no version of marijuana is legal:
- Indiana – medical CBD products only
- Kansas – medical CBD only
- Kentucky – medical CBD only
- North Carolina
- Wisconsin – medical CBD products only
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity FAQ
Can You Get a Medical Card if You Don’t Live in That State?
This varies widely by state, but usually, the answer is no. One exception is Hawaii, which allows you to apply for their program in lieu of reciprocity.
Which dispensaries Accept Out-of-State IDs?
For all the states listed above, dispensaries should accept out-of-state IDs. Happy shopping!