No products in the cart.
Although this might change with the results of the November election, Maryland has yet to approve legislation for recreational marijuana.
The good news? If you have a medical need for cannabis, you have the opportunity to qualify as a patient in this state.
We’ll guide you through the process of getting your Maryland medical marijuana card and help you understand the laws and who qualifies.
Who qualifies for medical cannabis in Maryland?
To be eligible for a medical marijuana card in Maryland, you must have a qualifying condition (listed below) and meet the following requirements:
- 18+ years old; Minors must have a caregiver and a pediatric subspecialist
- Live in Maryland
- Have a recommendation from your provider for medical cannabis use for a qualifying condition
What are the qualifying conditions for medical cannabis in Maryland?
The qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Maryland include the following:
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe or chronic pain
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms
- Severe nausea
- Wasting syndrome
- Any other chronic medical condition for which other treatments have been ineffective
How can I get a medical marijuana card in Maryland?
The first step is easy: book an appointment with Canna Care Docs in Maryland. We’ll discuss your condition, answer your questions, and help you learn more about the process.
If you qualify and decide to move forward, you will then need to register online through the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC) website. Once you’re approved by the state, you can print your ID card* and visit a dispensary for your first medical cannabis purchase.
*New patients must pay $50 for an MMCC identification card, which is valid for three years.
How much does a medical marijuana card cost?
For new patients, the cost of applying for medical marijuana through Canna Care Docs is $100.
What are the medical cannabis laws in Maryland?
If you’re planning to apply for medical cannabis, it’s important to understand the laws in your state. Below are some of the basics relating to possession, cultivation, purchasing, and more.
How much cannabis can you buy at one time? It depends on the certification you’ve been issued. When you apply for medical cannabis, your provider specifies the amount of dried flower you can purchase in a 30-day period. This is a rolling 30-day period, not by calendar month.
Maryland legislation does not permit patients to grow cannabis at home.
Currently, only cannabis flower is available for medical use in Maryland. Edible products are not permitted.
Interested in getting a medical marijuana card? We’ll help you get started!
If you’re considering becoming a medical marijuana patient in Maryland, we’re here to help. Visit our Canna Care Docs Maryland page to learn more and schedule your appointment today. We’ll help you take the next step toward accessing the treatment you need.